Drunk driving is aggressively prosecuted in Connecticut, but drivers understand that if they have a clean record and there were no injuries involved in a DUI arrest, a first-time offense may not result in jail time. However, there will likely be an administrative hearing at the Department of Motor Vehicles, wherein the accused's license is at stake for three to six months. If he or she is found driving during that suspension, 30 days of jail is mandatory.
Additionally, a first offense for DUI produces catastrophic insurance rates. It is also considered a crime — an unclassified misdemeanor — which may appear on a driving record for years to come.
The philosophy at the Law Offices of Mickey Sherman is to fight the DUI now and not assume that a lenient judge will deal out the "program."
Facing A DUI Second Offense? Put An Experienced Greenwich Repeat DUI Attorney On Your Side
A repeat DUI conviction is a whole different matter. Regardless of the facts surrounding your previous DUI conviction, if you are charged with drunk driving a second or third time, the
increased penalties can be life-changing. For example:
- A second DUI conviction may result in fines of up to $4,000, a mandatory minimum jail term (at least 120 days) and license revocation followed by mandatory use of an ignition interlock device.
- A third and subsequent DUI conviction within 10 years can result in as much as $8,000 in fines, at least one year in prison and permanent license revocation. It can also be charged as a felony.
- Connecticut imposes increased criminal penalties if someone is seriously injured or killed by a driver under the influence of alcohol or drugs. In addition, people found to be "persistent felony offenders" are subject to an increased criminal penalty, and the motor vehicles of certain offenders must be impounded for 48 hours.
It is important to retain the services of an experienced DUI defense lawyer who will help you get out in front of a repeat DUI charge in order to produce the best possible outcome. Do not hesitate to call me.
I offer a free consultation in which I can review the facts of your arrest and recommend the smartest course of action. Call 203-542-9597 or email me to schedule a free consultation. Criminal defense is not a 9-to-5 business. I'm available to you at all hours of the day, every day of the week.